Do I Need a Contract With an Answering Service?
No. Three of five large answering services publish no-contract terms. The commitment that costs you is the monthly plan floor, not the contract.
By Prashant Chandra, founder of BotsDontSleep.ai — 24/7 AI receptionist for Canadian businesses.
No phone needed — call directly from your browser. 5-minute demo.
No. Three of the five large answering services we checked on 14 October 2026 say on their own pricing page that there is no contract, and the other two do not mention one at all. BotsDontSleep has no contract, no monthly minimum and no setup fee either, at $0.60 CAD per answered minute, billed by the second, 24/7. But "no contract" is not "no commitment", and that is where the money goes. The commitment in this industry has moved out of the contract and into the plan: a monthly minute bundle you owe whether the phone rings or not. The question worth asking a salesperson is not "is there a contract." It is "what do I pay in my slowest month."
Do I need a contract with an answering service?
No, and if a provider insists on one you should ask why.
Here is what the pricing pages said when we read them on 14 October 2026. Smith.ai states that "Smith is a month-to-month service" and "there aren't any long term contracts." PATLive says "We have no contracts, so you can change plans or cancel anytime," and that you can "upgrade, downgrade, or cancel your plan at any time with no fees or penalties." Abby Connect says "Every plan is month-to-month with a free trial and no setup fee."
Two of the five say nothing. Ruby's plans-and-pricing page publishes monthly prices and confirms there are "no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding, setup, customization," but states no minimum term, notice period or cancellation policy. AnswerConnect's US pricing sheet does the same, and directs you to phone them for the rest.
Silence is not a trap. It usually means the terms live in a document the pricing page does not link to. It does mean you have to ask in writing, because a month-to-month promise made on a sales call is worth exactly as much as the email confirming it.
What do the large services actually commit you to?
The commitment is the plan, not the contract, and the two are priced very differently.
Figures below were read from each provider's own pricing page on 14 October 2026, in the currency those pages use: a bare "$" on US pages, which we read as US dollars. Check their sites for current figures. We are not affiliated with any of these companies; all names are the property of their owners.
| Service | What its pricing page says about contracts | Setup fee | Smallest monthly plan | Owed in a 40-minute month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BotsDontSleep | No contract, no monthly minimum | $0 | None — pay per minute | $24 CAD |
| PATLive | "We have no contracts" | None listed | $49/mo, $2.99/min | $168.60 USD |
| Abby Connect | "Every plan is month-to-month" | "No Setup Fee" | $165/mo, 50 Abby Minutes | $165 USD |
| Ruby | Not stated on the pricing page | No activation or onboarding fee | $250/mo, 50 minutes | $250 USD |
| AnswerConnect | Not stated on the pricing sheet | $49.99 on most plans | $325/mo, 200 minutes | $325 USD |
| Smith.ai | "Smith is a month-to-month service" | "No setup fees" | $300/mo, 30 calls | $300 USD |
Read the last column rather than the first. Every service in that table will let you leave. Most still bill a fixed figure in a month when almost nobody called, because the plan is the thing you bought. On a 40-minute month the spread between the cheapest row and the dearest is more than ten to one, and not one of those differences is caused by a contract.
If there is no contract, what am I still committed to?
Four things, and only one is usually written down as a commitment.
The monthly plan floor is the big one. A 50-minute plan costs the same at 50 minutes and at five. Ruby's smallest receptionist plan is $250 USD a month for 50 minutes: $5.00 per included minute if you use all of them, $50.00 per minute if you use five. Nobody is being dishonest about that. It is what a bundle is, and it is why the slow month is the one to size your decision on. A Calgary plumbing line during a cold snap and the same line in September are two different businesses on one phone number.
The overage rate is second, and it is the one that produces a surprise bill. PATLive's 200-minute plan runs $349 USD and charges $1.99 for every minute past 200. AnswerConnect's cheapest plans charge $1.95 and $1.65 a minute over the bundle. We wrote about that pattern in why an answering service bill comes in higher than the quote.
The rounding rule is third and quietest. AnswerConnect's sheet says interactions are "rounded up to the nearest minute and billed in 1 minute increments," with the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds free each cycle. Per-minute rounding on a line that takes a lot of wrong numbers bills a 12-second call as a full minute. We bill by the second, so a 20-second wrong number costs about 20 cents rather than a minute's rate.
The annual discount is fourth, and it is a commitment you volunteer for. Smith.ai offers "a 10% discount for subscribing for 12 months." On its $2,100 Pro plan that saves $210 a month, or $2,520 over the year. Nothing wrong with taking it. Just notice that you have signed up for a year in a sentence containing the word discount rather than the word contract.
Where do the fees hide when nobody calls it a contract?
In setup, in onboarding, and in the add-on that cannot be removed.
Setup fees are easiest to check and easiest to miss. AnswerConnect charges $49.99 to set up most plans, waived on the one marked best value. Smith.ai, Abby Connect, Ruby and PATLive all state no setup or activation fee. We charge nothing to launch, and the build takes about one week from the first call.
One-time fees sit outside the plan. PATLive lists a "one-time fee of $50" to get a business approved for text messaging on its phone system. AnswerConnect's HIPAA add-on is $29.99 a month, and its sheet warns that "after HIPAA compliance has been added to your account, this cannot be reversed." Neither is hidden. Both are lines you only find by reading the whole page.
Then there is what none of the five publishes: what happens to minutes you paid for and did not use. Not one states a rollover policy. Ask directly, and ask whether the answer changes when you downgrade.
None of this argues against a staffed service. A plan floor is the price of keeping trained humans available, which somebody has to carry. It argues for being honest about how uneven your phone is. A seasonal business on our line can run $24 in February and $340 in July without changing anything, and a driving school whose bookings cluster in spring and summer pays for the summer in the summer.
When is a contract actually the better buy?
In three situations, and the first one is common enough that we would rather tell you now than have you find out in month three.
You want a volume discount and you are big enough to earn one. Committed pricing is how discounts get funded. Smith.ai's 10% for a twelve-month subscription is a straightforward trade: predictability for them, $2,520 off a year of its Pro plan for you. If your volume is steady and large, a committed plan will usually beat per-minute billing, and refusing to sign anything on principle costs you money.
You need a fixed number for a budget. Per-second billing on a per-minute rate produces a bill that moves with your call volume. That is accurate, and accurate is not the same as convenient. If you are presenting a monthly operating figure to a partner, a lender or a board, a flat plan is easier to put in the row, and the premium for that is a legitimate purchase. We will give you a monthly estimate from your call log, but an estimate is not a fixed price and we will not pretend it is.
You need a human voice on every single call. No per-minute AI arrangement solves that, and no contract term changes it. If your callers are in distress, if the call is the relationship, or if a person being on the line is the product you are selling, hire a staffed service and take their terms. Our agent discloses that it is an AI by default, and when a call is outside what it knows it says so and transfers to a person with a summary rather than inventing an answer. That boundary is the design. It is also the reason a staffed service is sometimes the right purchase, and we would rather you buy one than be disappointed by us.
There is a fourth case that is not about contracts at all. If you answer nearly every call yourself and your volume is small, no service on this page is worth buying. The phone in your pocket is already doing the job.
How do I work out what I am committed to before I sign?
Five steps, and the first three cost nothing but an hour.
- Pull last month's call log from your carrier's portal. Count inbound calls, total talk time, and the calls that rang out unanswered. That is a real volume figure instead of a guess, and the ring-outs are the size of the problem you are solving.
- Find your slowest month in the last twelve and do the arithmetic on that one. Not your average and not your best. Multiply its minutes by each provider's rate, then compare against each monthly plan floor. The cheapest service for an average month is frequently the dearest for a slow one.
- Ask four questions in writing. What is the minimum term? What notice do you need to cancel, and is the current cycle billed in full? What is the overage rate and the rounding increment? Do unused minutes roll over, and does that change if I downgrade?
- Read the cancellation sentence, not the contract heading. Smith.ai's is the clearest of the five: "If you ever cancel, we bill for and through the end of the current monthly billing cycle." A fair term, stated up front. A provider that will not put the equivalent sentence in an email is telling you something.
- Run a 30-day test on real calls before committing to anything annual. Point your after-hours and overflow calls at the service and leave your front desk exactly as it is. Ours is Maryann, on 437-494-9110, live at any hour in 90+ languages. Ask her something off-script and listen to what she does at the edge of what she knows.
A month of your own call data settles this faster than any comparison page, including this one.
What does BotsDontSleep commit you to?
One week of setup and nothing after that.
There is no contract, no monthly minimum, no per-seat fee and no per-line fee. Setup is $0. The rate is $0.60 CAD per answered minute, billed by the second, on every call at every hour. You are not buying a bundle, so there is no floor to fall below and no unused balance to argue about. If you stop, you owe the minutes already answered.
The practical effect is that the risk sits with us rather than with you. We have to keep the agent good enough that you keep pointing calls at it, because nothing except the quality of the work is holding you here. That is the arrangement we would want as a buyer, which is why it is the one we sell. To weigh it against a staffed service that prices the same job by the plan, our Posh comparison lays out both sides, and adding coverage in Winnipeg without restructuring a front desk is the version most owners buy.
If the decision is still whether to pay anything at all, start with whether there is a free AI answering service worth trying and what a free trial or demo gets you. Neither answer requires a signature.
Frequently asked questions
- Do I need a contract with an answering service?
- No. Of the five large services we checked on 14 October 2026, three state on their own pricing page that there is no contract, and two do not mention a term at all. BotsDontSleep has no contract, no monthly minimum and $0 setup, at $0.60 CAD per answered minute billed by the second. If a provider insists on a term, ask what you get in exchange for it.
- Which answering services say they have no contract?
- Smith.ai, PATLive and Abby Connect all state it on their own pricing pages as of 14 October 2026. Smith.ai calls itself 'a month-to-month service' with no long term contracts, PATLive says 'We have no contracts', and Abby Connect lists month-to-month on every plan. Ruby and AnswerConnect publish prices without stating a term or a cancellation policy, so check their sites for current figures.
- Does BotsDontSleep require a contract or a minimum?
- No contract, no monthly minimum, no per-seat fee and no per-line fee. Setup is $0 and the rate is $0.60 CAD per answered minute, billed by the second. A month with no calls costs nothing, and a 40-minute month costs $24.
- What is a monthly plan floor?
- It is the amount you owe whether the phone rings or not. A 50-minute plan priced at $250 a month costs $250 at 50 minutes and $250 at five, which is $5.00 per minute in a full month and $50.00 per minute in a quiet one. The floor, not the contract, is the real commitment in most answering-service deals.
- What happens if I go over my included minutes?
- You pay an overage rate for each extra minute, and it is usually higher than your plan's effective rate. PATLive's 200-minute plan charged $1.99 per minute past 200 on 14 October 2026, and AnswerConnect's cheapest plans charged $1.95 and $1.65. Per-minute billing with no bundle has no overage, because there is no bundle to exceed.
- Are there setup fees with an answering service?
- Usually not, but check. AnswerConnect's pricing sheet showed a $49.99 setup fee on most plans as of 14 October 2026, waived on the plan marked best value. Smith.ai, Ruby, Abby Connect and PATLive all state no setup or activation fee, and BotsDontSleep charges $0 to launch.
- Do unused minutes roll over to the next month?
- None of the five pricing pages we read on 14 October 2026 states a rollover policy either way, so you have to ask. Ask in writing, and ask whether the answer changes when you downgrade a plan. On per-minute billing the question does not arise, because you are not buying minutes in advance.
- Is an annual commitment ever worth it?
- Yes, if your volume is steady and large enough to earn a discount. Smith.ai offers 10% off for subscribing for 12 months, which on its $2,100 Pro plan is $210 a month or $2,520 over a year. That is a genuine saving and a genuine twelve-month decision, so treat it as one rather than as a pricing detail.
- How much notice do I need to give to cancel an answering service?
- It varies, and only some providers publish it. Smith.ai states the term plainly on its pricing page: if you cancel, it bills for and through the end of the current monthly billing cycle. Ruby and AnswerConnect do not publish a notice period on their pricing pages, so get it in an email before you start.
- Can I test an answering service before committing to anything?
- Yes, and most providers make it easy. PATLive advertised a 14-day free trial of any plan on 14 October 2026, Abby Connect lists a free trial on every plan, and Smith.ai offers a 30-day money-back guarantee of up to $1,000 that excludes overage charges. You can also call our demo agent, Maryann, on 437-494-9110 at any hour in 90+ languages before you speak to anyone.
- What should I ask a provider in writing before signing up?
- Four things: the minimum term, the notice needed to cancel and whether the current cycle is billed in full, the overage rate and the rounding increment, and whether unused minutes roll over. Keep the reply. A provider who answers all four in an email is usually the one whose invoice matches the quote.
- Does per-minute billing make my bill unpredictable?
- It makes your bill move with your call volume, which is accurate rather than unpredictable. A quiet month costs less and a busy month costs more, and at $0.60 CAD per answered minute billed by the second you can work either out from your own call log. If you need one fixed figure for a budget line, a flat monthly plan is easier to forecast and worth paying for.
- When is a flat monthly plan the better choice?
- In three cases: when your volume is steady and large enough to earn a committed discount, when you need a fixed number for a budget or a lender, and when you need a human voice on every single call. The third is not about pricing at all. If a person on the line is the product you are selling, hire a staffed service and take their terms.
- How long does it take to launch, and what does it cost to start?
- About one week, at $0 setup. We connect or forward your existing number, train the agent on your services, hours, prices and booking rules, agree what counts as urgent, then launch after you have listened to real test calls. You keep your number, so nothing changes on your cards, website or Google listing.
Last reviewed: October 2026. Pricing and capability details verified against our current service.