Why is your answering service bill higher than the quote?
Your quote is a rate; your bill is a rule. Rounding, after-call work, plan floors, and the six levers that actually lower the invoice.
By Prashant Chandra, founder of BotsDontSleep.ai — 24/7 AI receptionist for Canadian businesses.
No phone needed — call directly from your browser. 5-minute demo.
An answering service bill is higher than the quote because the quote is a rate and the bill is a rule. Four rules do nearly all the damage: the billing increment, whether after-call work is on the meter, how many short calls are free, and what happens to minutes you did not use. BotsDontSleep bills $0.60 CAD per answered minute by the second, 24/7, with $0 setup and no monthly minimum, so a twenty-second wrong number costs about twenty cents rather than a rounded minute. Every competitor figure below was read from that company's own pricing or billing page on 10 October 2026; check their sites for current figures.
What turns a quoted rate into a bill?
Five rules, and only one of them is the rate. The rate is what gets compared on a shortlist, and it is the smallest of the five.
The first is the increment: the block of time a call is rounded into. The second is scope — talk time only, or talk time plus hold, transfer and the work done after the caller hangs up. The third is the free allowance for very short calls, which some providers publish and others do not have. The fourth is the plan floor, the minutes you pay for whether they ring or not. The fifth is the overage rate above it.
Two services at the same headline rate can produce invoices 50% apart on these rules alone. Most of it is published, and the better providers publish it plainly. Almost nobody reads the billing page before the pricing page.
How much does rounding up to the whole minute add?
On short calls, about half again. AnswerConnect states the rule in its own help centre: "For calls lasting longer than 30 seconds, we bill by the whole minute, rounded up," with a 1:25 call billing as two minutes and a 2:45 call as three.
Run that against a month. A hundred answered calls averaging eighty seconds each is 8,000 seconds of talking, which is 133 minutes. Rounded up, every one of those calls bills as two minutes, so the invoice says 200 minutes. You are paying for 67 minutes nobody spoke, and the rate on the page never moved.
The effect is worst exactly where small businesses live. A trade line full of ninety-second bookings and thirty-second wrong numbers rounds badly; an intake practice taking six-minute interviews barely notices. If your calls are short, the increment matters more than the rate, and our comparison with Nexa's reported 30- and 60-second round-up blocks runs the same arithmetic against a quote-based provider. Billed by the second, those same 133 minutes cost $79.80.
Does the meter run after the caller hangs up?
On some services, yes, and it is the quietest line on a rate card. AnswerConnect's billing page says minutes are calculated on "the total time required to handle each call," explicitly "including any after-call work our receptionists complete to process your message."
That is honest of them to publish, and defensible — a person typing up your message is doing work you are buying. But it changes what a "minute" means, so comparing their rate with someone else's as though the unit were the same will mislead you by more than the rate gap does.
The same page gives two credits in the other direction, which is worth knowing before you assume the worst: the first 30 calls under 30 seconds in a billing cycle are not charged, and queue time between a call reaching their system and a receptionist picking up is not billed either. If you take 45 robocalls in a month, 15 of them still bill, and each one bills as a rounded minute.
What counts as a billed minute on each provider's rate card?
Here is the same question asked of six services. Prices are the US-dollar figures published on each company's own page, read 10 October 2026.
| Service | Billing unit | Increment published? | After-call work counted? | Entry plan | Effective rate on that plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BotsDontSleep | Answered minute | Yes — by the second | No | None. $0.60 CAD/min, no minimum | $0.60 CAD/min |
| AnswerConnect | Minute | Yes — whole minute, rounded up above 30s | Yes, stated | Not published | — |
| PATLive | Minute | No increment stated | Not stated | 100 min, $189/mo | $1.89/min |
| Ruby | Minute | No increment stated | Not stated | 50 min, $250/mo | $5.00/min |
| Abby Connect | "Abby Minute" | No increment stated | Not stated | 50 Abby Minutes, $165/mo | $3.30/Abby Minute |
| Smith.ai | Call, not minute | Not applicable | Not applicable | 30 calls, $300/mo | $10.00/call |
Three things in that table are worth more than the prices. AnswerConnect is the only staffed service of the five that publishes its increment and its scope, which is a point in their favour even though the rule itself costs you money — you can compute the bill before you sign. Three of the five publish no increment at all, so the answer exists and you have to ask for it in writing. And Abby Connect's unit is not a minute: their page states that one Abby Minute equals one human minute but two AI minutes, so a plan of 50 absorbs up to 100 real minutes if the calls go to their AI, which our Abby Connect comparison takes into account.
For a Canadian buyer there is a sixth rule underneath all of them. Those plans bill in US dollars. The Bank of Canada's daily rate was 1.4271 on 9 October 2026, so Ruby's $395 hundred-minute plan lands near $564 CAD before your card's conversion fee. The full landed arithmetic is in what a small business should budget for an answering service.
Why does a plan with included minutes cost more than its rate suggests?
Because you buy the whole block and use part of it, and the per-minute rate everyone quotes is the rate at full use.
Divide the plan by its minutes and the real number appears. Ruby's 50-minute plan at $250 is $5.00 a minute; the 500-minute plan at $1,725 is $3.45. Abby Connect runs $3.30 an Abby Minute at the entry tier and $2.76 at 500. PATLive, which publishes the cleanest card of the five, runs $1.89 at 100 minutes and $1.52 at 500 — and our PATLive comparison is almost purely that arithmetic. The advertised efficiency arrives only if you fill the block, and a quiet February does not.
Per-call plans have a sharper version of the same trap. Smith.ai publishes Starter at $300 for 30 calls with $11.50 per call above it, and Basic at $810 for 90. Staying on Starter and paying overage is cheaper until about 74 calls in a month, where $300 plus 44 overage calls finally catches $810. Most owners upgrade long before 74, because an overage line reads as a mistake and a plan price reads as a decision. Our Smith.ai comparison concedes the real reason to buy them anyway.
Which levers actually lower an answering service bill?
Six, in this order, because each one changes the measurement the next one depends on.
- Get the billing rule in writing before you discuss the rate. Five questions: what is the increment, is after-call work counted, is hold and transfer time counted, how many short calls are free, and what is the overage rate. A provider who answers all five in writing is already better than one offering a lower number.
- Count your short calls. Pull last month's log from your carrier's admin portal and count the calls under 30 seconds and under 60. That count is what the increment acts on, and it is the single number that decides whether the increment or the rate matters more for you.
- Put spam on the other side of the meter. Screening a robocall before the agent engages is the only lever that removes billed time rather than shortening it. Everything else on this list makes calls cheaper; this one makes them not happen.
- Shorten the fixed part of every call. The greeting, the AI disclosure and the confirmation read-back run on every single call, so ten seconds trimmed from the script is ten seconds off a hundred invoices. Trim the greeting first and the read-back last.
- Size the plan to your median month, not your peak. Then compute the crossover to the next tier the way the Smith.ai arithmetic above does, and write the number on the invoice folder so the upgrade decision is arithmetic rather than nerves.
- Re-read one real invoice against the call log. Billed minutes in one column, actual talk time in the other. The gap between them is what the rules cost you, and it is the only figure in this article that is about your business rather than a rate card.
Steps one and two cost an hour and change what you buy. Steps three through six are maintenance, and they are worth roughly what step two tells you they are worth.
What does one month cost once the rules are applied?
Take that hundred-call month again: eighty seconds average, 133 minutes spoken, 200 minutes after a whole-minute round-up.
Billed by the second at $0.60 CAD, it is $79.80. On a 200-minute plan at PATLive's published $349, it is $349 USD — about $498 CAD at the 9 October rate — and the round-up is what pushed you from the 100-minute tier into the 200. On Smith.ai's Starter plan, a hundred calls is 30 included plus 70 overage at $11.50, which is $1,105 USD before the annual discount. The call count did not change in any of those three. Only the unit did.
Nobody misquoted you. The three services measured the same month in three different units, and for a short-call business the unit is the decision. Short-call trades feel it hardest — no-heat calls on a Winnipeg HVAC line run forty seconds of address and dispatch.
When does cutting the bill cost more than it saves?
Four ways, and the first two are the common ones.
Screening tuned too tight is the expensive mistake. A twenty-second wrong number costs about twenty cents. A new customer who got screened out, or hung up on a challenge question, costs the job. If you are paying for spam at twenty cents a call, that is a bad line item and a cheap one; aggressive screening to remove it is how businesses save four dollars a month and lose a two-thousand-dollar job.
Cutting the read-back is the other one. It saves ten or fifteen seconds on every call and it buys you wrong callback numbers, which you then discover by ringing them. The read-back is the only part of the script that verifies anything, and it should be the last thing you shorten.
After-hours-only coverage is a real saving when your misses are at eleven at night, and nothing at all when your misses are at two in the afternoon while you are under a sink. Price the daytime overflow on its own evidence rather than assuming the cheap half of the clock is the useful half. The answering service cost page carries the current rate card for both.
And a capped plan is genuinely easier to live with than per-second billing if you run on a fixed monthly float or a grant. Per-second billing has no ceiling: a storm week, a recall, a listing that goes viral, and the invoice moves with the calls. For most businesses that is the right trade, because the expensive months are the months that earned. For some it is not, and paying more per minute for a number you know in advance is a reasonable purchase rather than a mistake. If what you actually need is a person on every call, Moneypenny's named receptionist and the other staffed services are the right shortlist, and the bill is the price of the thing you wanted.
Frequently asked questions
- Why is my answering service bill higher than the quote?
- Because the quote is a rate and the bill is a rule. Five things decide the invoice: the billing increment, whether after-call work counts, how many short calls are free, the plan minutes you pay for whether they ring or not, and the overage rate above them. Two services at the same headline rate can bill 50% apart on those rules alone.
- What is a billing increment, and why does it matter more than the rate?
- The increment is the block of time each call is rounded into. AnswerConnect publishes its rule plainly: above 30 seconds it bills by the whole minute, rounded up, so a 1:25 call bills as two minutes. On a hundred calls averaging eighty seconds that turns 133 minutes of talking into 200 billed minutes, which is a bigger swing than most rate differences.
- Does an answering service bill for time after the call ends?
- Some do. AnswerConnect's billing page states that minutes cover "the total time required to handle each call," including after-call work its receptionists do to process your message. That is honest to publish and defensible, but it means a minute of theirs and a minute of someone else's are not the same unit. BotsDontSleep bills answered talk time only, by the second.
- Do answering services charge for robocalls and wrong numbers?
- Usually yes, and the rules vary. AnswerConnect does not charge for the first 30 calls under 30 seconds in a billing cycle, so 45 robocalls in a month still leaves 15 billed, each as a rounded minute. A per-call service charges the same for a twenty-second wrong number as for a booked appointment. At $0.60 CAD a minute billed by the second, that call is about twenty cents.
- How does per-second billing differ from per-minute billing?
- Per-second billing charges the seconds that were actually spoken; per-minute billing rounds each call up to a whole minute or a 30-second block. The gap grows with the number of short calls, not with the length of your month. A trade line full of ninety-second bookings and thirty-second wrong numbers is where the difference is largest.
- Is per-call pricing cheaper than per-minute pricing?
- It depends entirely on how long your calls run. Smith.ai publishes Starter at $300 for 30 calls with $11.50 per call above it, so a short call and a long one cost the same. If your calls average two minutes, $11.50 a call is roughly nineteen times $0.60 a minute; if they routinely run twenty minutes, per-call starts to look reasonable.
- Do I pay for minutes I do not use?
- On a plan, yes. Divide the plan price by its included minutes to see the real rate: Ruby's 50-minute plan at $250 works out to $5.00 a minute, and its 500-minute plan at $1,725 to $3.45. The advertised efficiency only arrives if you fill the block, and a quiet month does not. BotsDontSleep has no plan floor and no monthly minimum.
- What is the fastest way to lower an answering service bill?
- Screen the spam before the meter starts. It is the only lever that removes billed time rather than shortening it, and on a line taking forty robocalls a month it is the largest single saving available. After that, trim the fixed part of every call: the greeting and the disclosure run on every call, so ten seconds off the script is ten seconds off a hundred invoices.
- How do I check whether I am being billed correctly?
- Put one real invoice next to the same month's call log, billed minutes in one column and actual talk time in the other. The gap between them is what the billing rules cost you. It is the only number in this discussion that is about your business rather than a rate card, and it takes about twenty minutes.
- Does BotsDontSleep round calls up to the minute?
- No. Billing is $0.60 CAD per answered minute, charged by the second, so a twenty-second call costs about twenty cents rather than a full minute. There is no rounding block, no after-call work on the meter, no monthly minimum and no plan floor to fill.
- Are there setup fees, minimums or contracts?
- No setup fee, no monthly minimum, no per-seat or per-line fee, and no contract. The only line on the invoice is answered minutes at $0.60 CAD each, billed by the second. Tuning after launch, new prices, seasonal hours and new transfer rules are part of the service rather than change requests.
- Why is a US-dollar plan more expensive than it looks for a Canadian business?
- Because the price on the page is not what leaves your account. The Bank of Canada's daily rate for the US dollar was 1.4271 on 9 October 2026, so a $395 USD plan lands near $564 CAD before your card's foreign conversion fee. BotsDontSleep bills in Canadian dollars, so there is no conversion step at all.
- Does screening calls to save money cost me customers?
- It can, and that is the expensive mistake in this whole exercise. A twenty-second wrong number costs about twenty cents; a new customer who gets screened out costs the job. Screening aggressively enough to remove a few dollars of spam a month is how businesses save four dollars and lose a two-thousand-dollar job.
- When is a capped plan worth paying more per minute for?
- When you run on a fixed monthly float, a grant, or a budget somebody else approves. Per-second billing has no ceiling: a storm week or a recall moves the invoice with the call volume. For most businesses that is the right trade because the expensive months are the months that earned, but paying more per minute for a number you know in advance is a reasonable purchase rather than a mistake.
Last reviewed: October 2026. Pricing and capability details verified against our current service.